Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

I guess we all know that song in either the literal sense or in the sense that you’ve broken up with someone before.  In my case, I now know both songs.

Two days ago my girlfriend and I broke up.  Since I have been in Australia for the past two months now, we haven’t been able to talk as much due to the time difference and our daily schedules.  We were finally able to spend a few hours talking over Skype and it had turned out we’d both been thinking the same thing for a while now – keeping this relationship alive would be too much work for us.

As juniors we have harder work to get done, especially considering we’re both in a few honors classes, SAT’s to prep for within the next year, plus our extracurricular activities.  It’s too much to ask of two 16-year olds in their first relationship to do all that, plus keep a relationship going.  I know we might be giving up too quickly on this, but the fact is we’re both young and I am only here for a year.  Who knows?  Maybe when I go back for senior year we’ll get back together.

I guess we’re both lucky that it was a mutual split, and it’s not like we’re not going to throw away our friendship.  So I’m grateful that we’ll keep our friendship and no matter what happens she won’t lose her place in my life.  I’m hoping I won’t lose my place in hers either.

And that, my friends, is why I’m writing to you all at 2am instead of sleeping.

blog signature

Leave a comment

Filed under Lifestyle Things

Leave a Reply

