Going Back to the Roots

In response to Tourist Trap on The Daily Post.

It’s pretty simple to just look up our ancestry nowadays.  Just a few clicks of a button on some website, or have someone do it for you, and there you have it… your family tree.

I don’t know too much about my family history, but I do know that somewhere down that line on my dad’s side that my family comes from Scotland and somewhere from my mom’s side we hail from England.  Either way you put it, we’re from the United Kingdom.  European blood.

It’s one thing to know where you come from, but it’s different to really know the place you’re from… as in know the land.  One thing that is on my bucket list is to visit both Scotland and England in the regions where my family comes from.  I’ll have to do some research to find out exactly where though.  I just have this passion to visit the land where my great-great-great (maybe throw another great in there) grandparents actually lived their lives.  Though I won’t be able to see exactly what they saw, since I know hundreds of years makes a difference in the land, just being in the areas they lived would make me feel a little closer to them.

Whether I visit those places this summer or 20 years from now, I want to do it.  I just want to have that sense of being in the land of where my family comes from.  Heck, if I trace back far enough, I’m sure I’ll have other countries to visit at some point in my future.

As much as I love reading, I’d much rather experience these places I hear about.

Scotland and England are just the beginning.

blog signature

4 Comments

Filed under Blogging 101, Lifestyle Things, Prompts

4 responses to “Going Back to the Roots

  1. Seth,
    Wishing you all the best in your journeys- it is great to want to trace your family’s origins and I think you are lucky that you can focus on just two places – imagine the case of someone who was 1/8th, something and 1/16th something else- they would have to search a lot.
    God bless !

    Liked by 2 people

  2. That is excellent!! To know where we are going we have to know where we have been, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Seth – I enjoy reading your caliber of writing. It’s awesome! Keep up the good work. Keep on dreaming and enjoy the places you travel as you seek out your ancestors. I’m looking forward to reading your future writings.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

