I’ve Got House Pride, Do You?

What kind of bibliophile would I be if I haven’t read the Harry Potter series?  Well, I’d still be one, but in my opinion, I wouldn’t be a very good one.  So yes, I’ve read the Harry Potter series and I’ve read them numerous times.  Those books are very well worn and I’m proud of it.

You can imagine how excited I was when Pottermore came out and it was a chance to relive the series online with millions of other HP fans, but sitting on the computer doing the challenges for hours on end isn’t my thing.  I still have an account there though.  I mean, I had to see what house I’d end up in.

hufflepuff banner pottermore

Yes, I’m a Hufflepuff and I’m proud.

Hufflepuff is the least mentioned house in the series, both in the books and movies.  The only real time they got any recognition was in the fourth book when Cedric Diggory was chosen as the original Hogwarts champion to compete in the Triwizard Tournament.  After that, we didn’t hear too much of them again.  They’re also classified as the least clever house of Hogwarts, which is just another rumor.  In fact, the reason they are not seen as the most clever is because the Hufflepuffs are not a boastful house (and I’m honestly not trying to sound boastful by saying this, it’s what I read).

I have to say, I really identify with the mascot of the Hufflepuff House – the badger.  As it says in the official Pottermore welcome message, “…an animal that is often underestimated, because it lives quietly until attacked, but which, when provoked, can fight off animals much larger than itself, including wolves.”  I can honestly say this sounds like me; I’m a rather quiet person and prefer to mind my own business, but provoke me or harass my family, and I will fight back.

hufflepuff welcome message

When it comes to the sorting hat quiz, even ones other than at Pottermore, people get touchy on what house they’re sorted into.  The thing is, J.K. Rowling knew what she was doing when she came up with the characteristics the Houses.  She wouldn’t do anything to cheat her fans.  As we’ve learned from the books and movies, the House doesn’t define the wizard.  So don’t be ashamed of what House you were sorted into, be proud (and read the description thoroughly, you might be surprised).

blog signature

8 Comments

Filed under Bookworm Life, Lifestyle Things

8 responses to “I’ve Got House Pride, Do You?

  1. You are doing an amazing job in such a short amount of time. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, I’m also a Hufflepuff. Well, we have better access to the kitchen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Full on Hufflepuff over here,who is definitely better off left unprovoked!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Sorting Hat Tells No Lies | orangeowldiaries

  5. Pingback: The Friday Five: Blogger Love v.4 | orangeowldiaries

  6. I’m a Hufflepuff, too! 😀 And I enjoyed playing @ Pottermore. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

